Remembering Coach Outlaw........great article

Coach Outlaw: The Man, The Leader

Im in disbelief and continue to be in shock as a I write this.

Over a decade ago in 1996 I was a college student at Stephen F. Austin State University when I first met John Outlaw.. All I knew about the man or thought about him was that he was simply another head football coach.

I was blessed with the opportunity to report, shoot, and anchor sportscasts locally at KTRE while I was a student at SFA. My 1st experience and impression of John Outlaw was that of a man who was prideful and had a genuine sense of pride in his student-athletes at Lufkin High School and it wasn't limited to his football players.

I remember my first story in 1997 was the rigors of recruiting in which the student-athlete endured.

Coach Outlaw knew I was a young man who was simply trying to get his feet wet and involve him.

I instantly hit it off well with him despite the rough exterior and concern he had for how his student-athletes were going to be portrayed in the public's eye.

From that point on I knew what type of man he was and what his expectations were. He treated me with the utmost respect, although he remained cautious of how he communicated with me. Made sense I was a green rookie type.

I left for San Angelo to jump into this career full time. I knew in the back of my mind that I wanted to return to East Texas despite my passion to return to my hometown in Austin, TX eventually. Im not sure why, but East Texas was where I wanted to return to for my 2nd full time job as a sports anchor and reporter.